Verstappen wins Abu Dhabi Grand Prix


Red Bull's Max Verstappen has won the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The triple world champion wrapped up a year of unprecedented dominance with his record-extending 19th win in 22 races in the UAE capital on Sunday.

The pole-to-flag victory, for the fourth year in a row under the Yas Marina floodlights, left the 26-year-old alone in third place in Formula One's all-time list of winners with a career 54.

Sergio Perez finished second on the road for Red Bull but a five second post-race penalty dropped the Mexican off the podium, behind Ferrari's Charles Leclerc and Mercedes' George Russell.

Mercedes ended their first winless season since 2011 as best of the rest behind runaway champions Red Bull.

More from Sports News

On Virgin Radio today

Trending on Virgin Radio