Bangladesh to host 2016 Asia Cup despite security concerns


Bangladesh is set to host the Asia Cup once again, despite recent security fears which prompted Australia to cancel a tour. The tournament featuring five teams is scheduled to be played from February 24 to March 6 next year in the Twenty20 format for the first time. Test nations Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will get direct entry, while the UAE, Oman, Hong Kong and Afghanistan will compete for the fifth spot. The qualifying tournament will be played in the UAE in November.

More from Sports News

On Virgin Radio today

  • Non Stop Hits

    10:00pm - 6:00am

    No interruptions, just Hit Music!

  • The Kris Fade Show

    6:00am - 10:00am

    Kris, Priti and Rossi host the UAE's biggest radio show. It's full of fun, laughs and it's Where The Stars Live.

Trending on Virgin Radio

  • See Taylor Swift in London

    See The Eras Tour movie at Roxy Cinemas AND see it in person at Wembley Stadium! Just listen to Virgin Radio (Taylor's Version)

  • Untold Festival

    The biggest performances, interviews and a behind the scenes look before Untold comes to Dubai in February 2024.

  • Middle East Hot 30

    Every weekend Kris Fade plays the biggest tracks in the Middle East. Check out this weeks chart...

  • Gary Vee on Crypto!

    Gary talks about the latests trends in crypto and why everyone should be getting educated on it!