Oman bans entry from 10 countries to curb coronavirus spread

iStock (illustration)

Oman will suspend flights from 10 countries for 15 days in a bid to curb the spread of the coronavirus.

That's according to the official Oman news agency, which explained the move is to contain the spread of certain mutated strains.

Sudan, Lebanon, South Africa, Brazil, Nigeria, Tanzania, Ghana, Guinea, Sierra Leone and Ethiopia have been listed by the Gulf state's coronavirus committee.

The restrictions will also apply to travellers who've visited any of the listed countries 14 days prior to entering Oman.

The move will come into effect from Thursday.

Omani citizens, diplomats and health workers and their families who all have to undergo the usual approved health procedures governing entry to the Sultanate will be exempt from this rule.

The committee also urged its citizens and residents to avoid international travel unless essential. 

More from International News

On Virgin Radio today

Trending on Virgin Radio

  • Freek - Regional Artist Spotlight

    Freek is a Somali rapper, born & raised in Abu Dhabi, bringing a fusion of worldwide Hip Hop with an Arabic twist.

  • Tate McRae zooms with James

    You Broke Me First is still streaming like crazy around the world! James chatted to Tate about music and life in 2020!

  • Ali Gatie on Zoom

    Maz and James have been hanging out on Zoom with the superstar Ali Gatie about his new hit music featuring Alessia Cara.

  • 24kGoldn with Maz & James

    He officially has the biggest song on the planet right now and he joined us to talk about. 2020 is going good for Goldn. 🏆